Meet The Staff – Fairfield Area Library Manager

20 Aug

The Fairfield Area Library Manager is Mike Hatchett.

3 words to describe Fairfield are:

  • Fun
  • Community Oriented
  • Accessible.

Why is Fairfield Library great?

  •  The Staff, our Patrons, and the fantastic resources that we offer.

How long have you worked in libraries and in Henrico County?   

  • 23 Years.

A fun factoid about me is:

  • I have traveled extensively and keep coming back to Virginia.

One of my favorite books is:

  • Dune. Frank Herbert.

One of my favorite web sites is:

My preferred device is:

  • Kindle Fire.

If you had to choose…fiction or nonfiction?

  • I don’t have to choose, I’m a Librarian!  Actually, I usually read one of each simultaneously.

Some Fairfield staff picks are:

The Return of Captain John Emmett.  Elizabeth Speller.

  • The Name of the Wind.  Patrick Rothfuss.
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.  Rebecca Skloot.
  • Rogues Game.  Milton Burton.
  • The Man Who Loved Books Too Much.  Allison Bartlett.

My selected FA customer comment from our recent survey:

  •  “Just keep doing what you’re doing.   I was unemployed for 5 months, I came in almost every day looking for a job.  I just want to say thank you.  You were all very helpful and kind.”

Last words:

  •   Make the Library part of your Vacation this Summer!!
