Meet The Staff – North Park Branch Library Manager

13 Aug

The North Park Library Manager is Ms. Louise Perry.

3 words to describe North Park Library are:

  • Friendly
  • Accessible
  • Fun

Why is North Park Library great?

  • Nothing makes this staff happier than getting to know our customers, learning about their information and recreational reading needs and providing them with the best service possible. We have many young families who use our services but we do value highly our loyal customers from the days, 12 years ago, when we were located in a trailer in the Wal-Mart parking lot!

How long have you worked in libraries and in Henrico County?

  • Aargh!  I am forced to confess that I started my first public library job at the age of 15, 45 years ago!  What a lot of changes I have seen!  I became a librarian 37 years ago and have never regretted my career choice.  I came to Henrico County, from Fairfax County in 1987, and worked part time for many years, at many of our branches, while my kids were young.  I then began to work full time at the Business Resource Center at Innsbrook Library before coming to North Park as the manager.

A fun factoid about me is:

  • A few years ago I read a mystery by a new Canadian writer, Louise Penny, immediately realizing she would be a bestselling author.  As I read each succeeding title the urge grew to see this idyllic setting and last fall I made the trip to Quebec, visiting many of the places which are in her books.

One of my favorite books is: 

  • So hard to choose!  Recently I loved Cat’s Table by Michael Ondaatje.

One of my favorite web sites is:

  • Amazon!

My preferred device is:

  • I enjoy using both Nook and Kindle…but nothing beats the printed page for me.  Also, I can’t drive without an audiobook blaring away!

If you had to choose… fiction or nonfiction? 

  • Fiction, all kinds.

Some North Park staff picks are:

  • Our YA Librarian, Jennifer, is recommending “Matched” by Ally Condie
  • Part time Circulation Assistant, Richard, is all about Stephen King’s latest, “ 11/22/63.”
  • New Reference Library Assistant II, Jess, is loving “Tinker” by Wen Spencer.

My selected North Park customer comment from our recent survey:

  • Continue the way you are going.  I LOVE the HCPL system.  The employees at my library, North Park, are so nice, knowledgeable, and helpful.  Hats off to them!
