Meet The Staff – Glen Allen Branch Library Manager

6 Aug

The Glen Allen Branch Library Manager is Ms. Andrea Brown

3 words to describe Glen Allen Library are:

  • Welcoming
  • Energy-saving
  • Community-focused

Why is Glen Allen Library great?

  • Our Founding Fathers Collection features books and media for children, teens, and adults relating to our country’s founding fathers and mothers. It is unique to Henrico County Public Library and possibly in the United States. Overlooking the collection is a large mural, a reproduction of the painting “Declaration of Independence” by John Trumbull. From this area you may enter the enclosed courtyard with seating and landscaping for relaxing and reading. Sometimes programs and concerts are held there. This beautiful building reopened in October 2010 following extensive renovation and expansion, which doubled its size.

How long have you worked in libraries and in Henrico County? 

  • I worked in school, college, and special libraries before joining Henrico County Public Library in 1987. I even worked in my college library while a student

A fun factoid about me is:

  • I’m a Grobanite – a fan of singer/actor/composer Josh Groban

One of my favorite books is:

  • Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear

One of my favorite web sites is:

My preferred device is:

  • I can’t get along without my desk-top PC at work and my lap-top PC at home. Paper and pencil come in handy at times too. Then there’s my droid phone…

If you had to choose… fiction or nonfiction? 

  • Most definitely fiction, and more specifically, mystery and historical fiction.

Some Glen Allenstaff picks are: 

  • Alex –The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  • Kay-Lyn –Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • Jan –The Marriage Plot by Jeff Eugenides

My selected Glen Allen customer comment from our recent survey:

  • Keep up the GREAT work! We are so pleased with the addition to the Glen Allen Branch and how the usage has increased. I like the automated checkout and return system. Everything is wonderful.

Last words:

  • During the spring of 2012, the Glen Allen Library received Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Silver Certification as a result of its recent renovations. This is the County’s first general government facility to attain the LEED designation.
