Meet The Staff – Bookmobile Manager

30 Jul

The Bookmobile Library Manager is Carolyn Cook. 

3 words to describe Bookmobile Library are:

  • On the go

Why is BookmobileLibrary great?

  • We bring library services to citizens that would not normally visit the library. We offer personalized service.

How long have you worked in libraries and in Henrico County?

  •  I have worked for the county for 32 years. 26 of those years have been in the library.

A fun factoid about me is:

  • I went parasailing with my grandson and loved it.

One of my favorite books is:

  • The Room Emma Donoghue

One of my favorite web sites is:

  • All Recipes

My preferred device is:

  • My iPad

If you had to choose… fiction or nonfiction?

  • I love cook books. Don’t cook a lot but I like to find recipes for my husband to cook.

Some Bookmobilestaff picks are: 

  •  1Q84 Haruqi Murakami recommended by Phil
  • Pet the Cat by Eric Litwin
  • Savvy by Ingrid Law
  • A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeleine L’Engle
  • Life and Death in Shanghai by Nien Cheng

My selected Bookmobile customer comment from our recent survey:

  • “Bookmobile is awesome! We LOVE our friends on the bookmobile. They get to know us personally and have great suggestions!  They ROCK!!!”

Last words: 

  • The Bookmobile is the primary Outreach for Henrico County Public Library. We take the love of reading to citizens that would not come to a bricks and mortar building. The county has supported the Bookmobile since 1977. The current Bookmobile is the third Bookmobile that has served county residents for the past 35 years.
