Two Very Special Books

15 Mar

AHR BooksAll Henrico Reads is just three weeks away!

We are gearing up for the big day and are looking forward to David Baldacci’s visit. Part of my preparation for the event is (go figure) to read one of the featured books. I’m reading The Camel Club. (the link will take you to a list of all the books in the Camel Club series) I found it last week on the shelf at Fairfield and checked it out immediately. I’m a few chapters in and so far I like it. It’s full of espionage, criminal plots and underdogs.  What is it about? Here’s a little summary from the publisher’s web site:

Welcome to THE CAMEL CLUB. Existing at the fringes of Washington, D.C., the Club consists of four eccentric members. Led by a mysterious man known as “Oliver Stone,” they study conspiracy theories, current events, and the machinations of government to discover the “truth” behind the country’s actions.Their efforts bear little fruit-until the group witnesses a shocking murder…and become embroiled in an astounding, far-reaching conspiracy. Now the Club must join forces with a Secret Service agent to confront one of the most chilling spectacles ever to take place on American soil-an event that may trigger the ultimate war between two different worlds. And all that stands in the way of this apocalypse is five unexpected heroes.

Just my kind of book. Have you read it? If so, don’t tell me how it ends. No spoilers please.

The other book we are featuring is Wish You Well. I haven’t read it yet but plan on it. From what I hear it is a departure from Baldacci’s usual novels. What is it about? Another summary from the publisher:

Precocious twelve-year-old Louisa Mae Cardinal lives in the hectic New York City of 1940 with her family. Then tragedy strikes — and Lou and her younger brother, Oz, must go with their invalid mother to live on their great-grandmother’s farm in the Virginia mountains. Suddenly Lou finds herself coming of age in a new landscape, making her first true friend, and experiencing adventures tragic, comic, and audacious. But the forces of greed and justice are about to clash over her new home…and as their struggle is played out in a crowded Virginia courtroom, it will determine the future of two children, an entire town, and the mountains they love.

I hope to read it after I finish The Camel Club. It looks good. Everyone I’ve spoken with who’s read it has liked it.

I sure hope I can finish The Camel Club before April 5th. I’d feel bad if Mr Baldacci asked me asked me something about it and couldn’t answer.

Have you read these books? Which one? Both? What did you think?

