Varina Library

16 Dec
Varina Library

Varina Library

The Varina Library is a library I wish I could visit more often. This 40 year old library may be small but it is a great library. The staff is enthusiastic, creative and very dedicated to the people who visit their library. They provide fantastic service and are always thinking of new events for people to attend.

One of the great advantages of being a small library is getting to know the people who visit. Because they know the people, the staff come up with great events for all ages. This summer they had a 3 part genealogy series for adults. It was pretty popular. The people who attended the sessions learned a lot about how to discover their family histories. Many happy children had a great time playing with bubbles on the lawn of the library during their Bubblemania event last summer. These are just two examples. They come up with great stuff all the time!  If you ever get the chance, I highly recommend attending one of their events. Depending on where you live, it may be a bit of a drive but you won’t regret it.

People really make this library great. I asked the manager what she like the most about working at Varina. Without hesitation she replied:

I most enjoy working with the Varina people.  Over the years that I have been at the Varina Library (since 1997), I have found the Varina citizens to be kind, easy to work for and very patient.  I have made many friends and enjoy conversing with the members of our Varina Library family.

Her attitude is shared among the staff at the Varina Library. They really do enjoy working there and getting to know the people in the community. I really do need to visit there more often. Every time I do I leave smiling.

One Response to “Varina Library”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Varina Library « Welcome to your -- Topsy.com - December 16, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Henrico Library, Henrico Library. Henrico Library said: Varina Library: http://wp.me/p106dX-1p […]

Comments are closed.

